crédit photo : Fanny Haradji

Ravel Transatlantique

In 1928 Maurice Ravel carries out a successful four months tour across North America during which he conducts his Rapsodie espagnole at the head of the New York Symphony Orchestra. Ravel is thrilled by the American culture and gets to meet the young George Gershwin in New York.

The next year, the Boston Symphony Orchestra commissions him to compose a Divertissement for piano and orchestra that will become the Concerto in G major. This piece is known for its extremely sensitive melodies and its joyful, bright, jerky accents… almost jazz ! How not to think about Ravel’s experience in the US ?

Percussions Claviers de Lyon look back on a significant period of the composer’s life, eclectic an filled with curiosity. Gershwin’s famous Rhapsody in Blue is associated with a selection of pieces, all linked to Ravel’s « crazy tour » - Rapsodie espagnole, Concerto in G major and Gaspard de la Nuit - so we can hear the presence of jazz in Ravel’s music.

Hélène Tysman brilliantly performs the piano pieces which alternate with audacious versions for the percussion quintet. The two concertos promise an unusual dialogue ! The sound of Ravel’s piano meets with the sound of instruments historically coming from jazz music, like vibraphone… in a chamber formation that neither French nor Americans knew in 1928.

Running time : 75 minutes
From age 12

Maurice Ravel / Rapsodie Espagnole / Percussions Claviers de Lyon

Maurice Ravel / Gaspard de la Nuit / Hélène Tysman

George Gershwin / Rapsody in Blue / Hélène Tysman & Percussions Claviers de Lyon
Maurice Ravel / Concerto in G major / Hélène Tysman & Percussions Claviers de Lyon

Musical selection / Gilles Dumoulin
Transcriptions / Raphaël Aggery & Gilles Dumoulin